University Design Forum Members Triumph at 2023 Civic Trust Awards

Founder member, LSE’s Marshall Building by Grafton Architects was named a National Award winner and was crowned as this year’s standout project winning the 2023 National Panel Special Award.

Member, Nottingham Trent University’s Lyth Building by Evans Vettori Architects, collected a National Award and received a Special Award for Sustainability.

Founder member, Manchester University received a National Award for their First Light Visitor Pavilion Visitors’ Centre by Hassell architects, and St. Hilda’s College by Gort Scott at Founder Member Oxford, also garnered a National Award.

High Commendations were awarded to the following University projects.

  • Arts University Bournemouth – Student Accommodation by Design Engine
  • The Pears Building Institute of Immunity and Transplantation at UCL (Founder Member) by Hopkins Architects
  • Sir William Henry Bragg Building- Leeds University by ADP

Architect Keith Williams, Chair of the Civic Trust National Awards Panel remarked

It is only right that our universities continue to commission outstanding buildings, and appoint fine architects and design and construction teams to undertake them. I am delighted that the Civic Trust Awards have been able to recognise the sector’s best examples and that the Marshall which is clearly a world class addition to the LSE estate, has been awarded the National Panel Special Prize, the highest award that we can give. Congratulations to all.”

Trevor Wills, Chair of the University Design Forum commented “It’s heartening to see the efforts of clients, designers and contractor teams in driving design quality have been recognised by the Civic Trust. The great thing about these awards is they focus on the positive civic contribution of these buildings and how they serve their communities Congratulations to all universities recognised.”